About me and how I started to build my collection

How to build your love for makeup & your collection?

We have all experienced those times where all we owned was 1 mascara and 1 foundation and never thought it wasn’t enough.

Well, times have changed. We as a makeup loving community have changed those days and even now, nearly every girl has started to pursue a deep love for makeup. However, where do we start towards becoming a lover of makeup & how can you build your makeup collection. Well girls, I’m here to tell you a little of how I come to find my passion for makeup and the steps I took to get my makeup collection to where it is today.

I’ve always had that deep love for makeup since I was little but never thought to expand my love for it. As I grew older, Yes, I did buy a few items of makeup here and there just for those occasions where I’d wear it however it wasn’t a hobbie.. YET!

I can say a lot of girls have only developed their love for makeup over the few years whilst there were those girls who have always loved it. I’m one of those ones who developed my love for makeup a little later. When I was 16 I watched Youtube tutorials till the morning on basically MAKEUP!! (shaaanxo to be exact) 😉 At that time I didn’t really have the spare money to go splashing out on makeup so I made do of what I did own and used it in all types of ways which helped me discover new things. When I turned 17 I moved out of home and got a job where I could pay for things myself. This is where the collection started…

Here’s where I will tell you how I expanded my makeup collection & tips and tricks to do it at a fraction of the price then retail. Please NOTE: when buying used makeup know how to sanitize your items before using.

I remember buying a bulk lot of makeup from a girl on Facebook (It was a makeup buy sell swap page). Now ofcourse, do be careful of who you buy makeup off on facebook etc and do know how to spot a genuine person first before making the purchase. Well although I did have a job, I wasn’t one to go splashing money on makeup.. still aren’t (wish I could) but sadly there’s bills L Anyways, I bought a bulk lot of makeup off of a lady on facebook. I actually still have the photo. Some items were used  and some still new. I purchased it for $120NZD including shipping. BARGAIN!! . This is what I got.. My first ever MAC products and where I started to grow.

I checked over the MAC products and all were authentic.. Click here to find out how to check authenticity of MAC cosmetics.(This is not my blog, I will be doing an authenticity check for MAC products, however this is very helpful.)

1899989_10203170678131182_97123457_n

“Do remember, a collection does take time to grow. Hold what you love in it and the products you believe in and  cherish what you have. Most of all you will find your secret to loving makeup through your collection. There is no real secret, only you can find what it is.”

I then bought more makeup bulks off Trade Me (If you live outside New Zealand then EBay is just the same) .. Go check them out!! Basically, I would spend roughly $50 a week on makeup , sometimes even $20 a week off trade me and the Facebook selling pages.. I would come out with 5 – 10 items to even 20 items of makeup. Some even High end. I know right!! Baring in mind I did come across some fakes which got binned!The thing is on Trade Me a lot of things go $1 reserve because people would just like things to be sold and/or they are moving and can’t take it all. For any reason, they let it go to help people like us who are building a collection 😉

Here’s a few items I bought off trade me and facebook over a year ago that helped expand my collection 🙂

I payed $44NZD for this bulk lot around a year ago.
I payed $44NZD for this bulk lot around a year ago.
This lot cost me $50NZD
This lot cost me $50NZD

10687291_10204605050029583_7356089344560579375_o

Only one thing is whatever I didn’t like or it didn’t suit my skin I would sell on to buy products that I actually did like.

Another cheap option of buying cosmetics is to buy a BULK load of makeup on Ebay. They have the Maybelline, covergirl bulks which help you save so much money!! Some may be old stock but let’s face it I hold makeup products for sometimes years.

Be on the lookout for affordable products when out shopping.. Grocery stores, $2 shop lashes are great, or even if you can’t afford to buy high end things, save $20 a week and buy the product you’ve always wanted at the end of it J If you think about it that’s $1000 worth of products in one year and if you follow how I got my products you will definitely have a huge collection even in the end of 6 months.

I would suggest buying makeup online aswell, like MAC cosmetics as it still comes out a lot more affordable then NZ makeup prices. On some sites you will have to use a shipping service to get your products to NZ so if you are looking to buy online , do think about spending around $200 to be safe so you don’t get stung at customs.

Do remember, a collection does take time to grow. Hold what you love in it and the products you believe in and  cherish what you have. Most of all you will find your secret to loving makeup through your collection J There is no real secret, only you can find what it is.

Please comment below how you have built your makeup collection, I would love to read them!!!

5 comments

Leave a Reply

